Direct answer and scope

The New York crematory PDF does not supply an opening-date field or a closure-date field. Its published facility fields are county, cemetery number, name, address, city, state, ZIP code, and telephone number. Because those are the fields supplied by the PDF, an opening, closure, relocation, effective, operation, or licence-status date is unsupplied in that record.

The scope is the dated Department of State PDF snapshot reached through the endpoint checked on August 26, 2026. The endpoint redirected to a source revision dated December 11, 2024. That revision contains 48 physical-crematory listing rows across 30 counties. These measurements describe the dated file and do not establish active-facility totals, current statewide completeness, or a live operating-status roster.

Each row should be treated as a published facility record identified by its cemetery number and accompanied by the eight listed identity or contact fields. The cemetery number does not by itself establish current status, services, ownership, direct-to-public access, or an arranger relationship.

How to use the supplied evidence

Start with facility-row identity. Record the county, cemetery number, name, address, city, state, ZIP code, and telephone number exactly as published. The cemetery number can distinguish the administrative row within this PDF, while the remaining fields describe the row's published location and contact information. Do not enrich the row from a name, map, marketing statement, or third-party source.

Next, record source revision separately from endpoint verification. The relevant revision is dated December 11, 2024, while the endpoint was checked on August 26, 2026. The later verification date shows when the endpoint was checked; it does not change the PDF's revision date or convert the listing into a current operating-status record.

Then record the lifecycle-field state. Opening date, closure date, relocation date, effective date, operation date, and licence-status date are not among the eight published fields. Each should therefore be marked unsupplied for this PDF, rather than assigned a value from the row's date context, location, name, or administrative sequence.

Finally, preserve the interpretation limit. The file can support reproduction of its dated rows and published fields. It cannot, from those fields alone, supply a facility opening, closure, relocation, operation, or licence conclusion.

Decision framework

Use a separate result for each evidence question. First: is there a matched facility row, identified by the published cemetery number and its accompanying fields? Second: what source revision and endpoint verification date apply? Third: which fields does the source actually publish? Fourth: is there a separate, exact record for the particular lifecycle point being examined?

For the PDF itself, the first three questions can be answered from the dated listing: the row fields are county, cemetery number, name, address, city, state, ZIP code, and telephone number; the source revision is December 11, 2024; and the endpoint was checked on August 26, 2026. The fourth question is not answered by this schema for opening, closure, relocation, effective, operation, or licence-status dates.

Do not treat a row's presence as an opening event or an operating-status finding. Do not treat a missing row as a closure event. Do not derive a date from the row's order, the number of rows, the number of counties, the age of the source, an address, a name, or another entity source. Each of those is different from a published lifecycle field.

The resulting conclusion should be stated narrowly: the dated PDF supplies the listed row fields, while the requested lifecycle date or status is unsupplied in that PDF. A separate lifecycle conclusion requires separate evidence matched to the facility and the specific question; without that evidence, the conclusion remains unknown.

Evidence limits and unresolved questions

The December 11, 2024 revision and the August 26, 2026 endpoint check must not be collapsed into a claim that a facility is currently active, currently licensed, currently open, complete, or recently updated. The endpoint's reachability is an observation about access to the source at the check date; it is not a lifecycle field in the PDF.

The 48 rows and 30 counties likewise remain measurements of the dated snapshot. They do not answer how many facilities are operating now, whether every relevant facility appears, whether a row was added or removed for a lifecycle reason, or whether a listed location has moved. Those questions remain unresolved when the required matched evidence is not supplied.

Name or address differences do not by themselves establish relocation, closure, ownership change, or a new licence. The published schema supplies identity and contact fields, but it does not state the reason for a difference or provide a lifecycle date. A cemetery number remains the administrative identifier as published in this PDF, not an independently inferred status or licence identifier.

The unresolved points are therefore specific: when a facility opened, whether and when it closed, whether it relocated, when any change became effective, whether it was operating at a particular date, and what licence-status date might apply. None should be converted into false, zero, opened, closed, relocated, operating, licensed, current, or available merely because another value is missing.

Questions people ask

The answers below apply to the dated New York Department of State crematory PDF and keep source revision, endpoint verification, row identity, and lifecycle evidence distinct.

Evidence behind this page

Each point below is restricted to what the cited primary source supports. Administrative listing status is not a quality endorsement.

Claim-level evidence used on this page
EvidenceSupported pointScope and limitation
Evidence 1Display documented, conflicting, or unknown for each evidence link and show the source and verification date supporting that state.This is a conservative editorial evidence model, not a state-issued relationship status, legal conclusion, or guarantee that the documented route was ultimately used.
Evidence 2Publish exact rows from the immutable validated PDF snapshot with the source revision date, verification date, measured row count, measured county coverage, source URL, and interpretation limit.The measured 48 rows and 30 counties describe this dated PDF snapshot, not active-facility totals, current statewide completeness, quality, availability, public access, or a live operating-status roster.
Evidence 3Reproduce those exact published fields and identify each row by its cemetery number without enriching it from names, maps, marketing, or third-party sources.A cemetery number is an administrative identifier as published in this PDF; it does not by itself prove current status, services, ownership, direct-to-public access, or an arranger relationship.
Evidence 4State listed in the official DOS PDF revision dated 2024-12-11 and verified at the current endpoint on 2026-08-26.Do not shorten that wording to currently active, currently licensed, currently open, complete, or recently updated; stop publication if the source hash, filename, columns, control totals, or endpoint changes before review.

Questions people ask

Does the official New York crematory PDF include an opening-date field?

No. The published fields are county, cemetery number, name, address, city, state, ZIP code, and telephone number. An opening date is not among those fields, so it is unsupplied in this PDF.

Does it include a closure, relocation, effective, or licence-status date?

No. Closure, relocation, effective, operation, and licence-status dates are not among the eight published fields. Each remains unknown from this PDF unless separate, matched evidence supplies that specific point.

Can a row's presence in a dated PDF prove when the facility began or stopped operating?

No. A row's presence supplies the listed county, cemetery number, name, address, city, state, ZIP code, and telephone number for that dated snapshot. It does not supply an opening or stopping date or establish an operating-status conclusion.

Can a reachable endpoint or verification date make a facility lifecycle conclusion current?

No. The endpoint was checked on August 26, 2026, but it served a PDF revision dated December 11, 2024. Those dates should remain separate and do not convert the source into a current operating-status roster.

Does an address or name difference prove relocation, closure, ownership change, or a new licence?

No. The PDF publishes name and address fields, but it does not state the reason for a difference or supply a relocation, closure, ownership, or licence-status date. Those points remain unresolved from the row alone.

What happens when current primary lifecycle evidence is not in the validated manifest?

The lifecycle result remains unknown. The dated row, its source revision, the endpoint verification date, and the eight published fields may be recorded separately, but no opening, closure, relocation, operation, or licence conclusion should be derived from their presence, absence, age, order, count, name, or address.

Primary sources

  1. New York State Department of Health, Opened Funeral Firms Reports Verified 2026-08-26
  2. New York State Department of State, Division of Cemeteries, Crematory Frequently Asked Questions Verified 2026-08-26
  3. New York State Department of State, Authorization for Cremation and Disposition Instructions Verified 2026-08-26
  4. New York State Department of State, Find a Crematory By County Verified 2026-08-26